The RSAA’s governing council meets regularly throughout the year to discuss Society business and make decisions. Members of council are elected at the AGM and can stand for a maximum of two terms.


HRH The Duke of York KG GCVO ADC


Lord Davies of Abersoch CBE

Honorary Vice-Presidents

Sir Harold Walker KCMG

Mr Neville Green OBE FCIB

Sir David John KCMG

Chairman of Council

Mr Frank Slevin

Honorary Treasurer

Mr Andrew Cartwright

Honorary Secretary

Mr W (Bill) Norton

Honorary Librarian


Society Archivist

Dr Rosie Llewellyn-Jones


Prentis & Co LLP


Lloyds Bank and CCLA

Members of Council

Mr Christopher Clarke

Mr Roger Croston

Ms Vanessa Easlea

Mr Robin Lamb

Mr Andrew Sparkes CMG

Dr David Taylor

Mr Antony Wynn (Iran Soc)

Historian of the Society



Acting-Chairman of the Editorial Board

Mr Barney Smith CMG

Asian Affairs Editor

Mr Bijan Omrani

Book Review Editor

Mr Richard Fell CVO

SOAS Representative


Foreign & Commonwealth Office Representative

Mr Michael Thomas MBE


Mr Michael Ryder CMG

Assistant Secretaries

Ms Sara Man

Miss Briony Watson

Local Honorary Secretaries

Australia – Mr Bruce Bowers

Hong Kong –

India (Chennai) – Mr M A Alagappan

India (Mumbai) –

India (New Delhi) – Mr James Pennefather

Malaysia – Dato’ H S Barlow OBE

New Zealand – Mr Andrew De Pree

Sri Lanka –

United Arab Emirates (Abu Dhabi) –

Dr Frauke Heard

United Arab Emirates (Northern Emirates) –

Mr Gordon Rouquette

United States (Middle Atlantic States) –

Mr Ronald F Rosner

United States (New England) –

Mrs Susanna Sutro

Password Reset
Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.